Kimberly Sayer Moisturising Cream VS. Ultra Light Moisturiser | Sample Review

Kimberly Sayer Sample Review

Kimberly Sayer Moisturising Cream Performance: 6/10

Kimberly Sayer Ultra Light Moisturiser Performance: 8.5/10

Price: £25.80 each

The Kimberly Sayer SPFs have been on my radar for a long while. Given how highly rated they are in the green beauty community, I had high expectations. The Kimberly Sayer SPFs are mineral sunscreen and moisturiser in one. They are derived from all natural ingredients, and are suitable for even the most sensitive of skins.

As I have dry and dehydrated skin, I fully expected myself to love The Moisturising Cream. But now that I have had a good test of both products, you would be surprised at my verdict – I certainly was!

I received the two samples as part of a purchase from LoveLula. They came in 1.5ml packets, which I promptly opened and relocated to glass jars. As such, the products lasted me a good five days each!

Kimberly Sayer Swatches

Kimberly Sayer Swatches

(Excuse my strangely pink fingers)

Kimberly Sayer Anti-Oxidant Daily Moisturising Cream

The key ingredients in Kimberly Sayer’s Moisturising Cream is cold pressed Borage Oil, Beech Bud extract, Nettle extract and Oat Beta Glucan. Borage oil and Beech Bud have supreme anti-ageing properties, whilst Nettle extract stimulates cell growth. Oat Beta Glucan acts as a barrier to protect the skin from free radicals and reduces moisture loss.

As evident from the ingredients, this cream is more suitable for mature skin. My dry skin has been loving a lot of anti-ageing products in the past, so I pounced at the opportunity to give it a go.

The Moisturising Cream is thick and actually got a bit clumpy after a few days of not using it (photo). I thought this was strange as I have had the lid tight on the jar for the whole time. The cream smells very strongly of lavender. It is not a bad scent, but I am not a big fan of it, especially not for the start of the day.

As a mineral sunscreen, it is easy to rub in and does not leave a white cast. However, as a cream, it does not feel particularly moisturising, instead, it sits on top of the skin, and isn’t fully absorbed until late in to the day. This is a first for me, as my skin does like to siphon up moisture like there is no tomorrow. The finish it gives is more similar to a sunscreen than a moisturiser – it leaves a greasy feeling on the skin.

To sum up: I’m not a massive fan of a greasy face. So this is a no for me.

Kimberly Sayer Ultra Light Organic Facial Moisturiser

Aptly named, the Kimberly Sayer Ultra Light Moisturiser is very lightweight. Its main ingredient is Lemon Oil which detoxifies the skin, as well as inhibits excess oil production. Similar to the Moisturising Cream, it also contains Oat Beta Glucan, which moisturises and protects the skin from free radicals.

This moisturiser is formulated for oily or combination skin. As Lemon Oil also acts to dry up acne, this is great for acne prone skin. My face can get a bit shiny during the day, but I have realised over the years that this is due to my extreme dry skin conditions, which can cause the overproduction of oil. Normally, I would steer clear from formulas that are ‘drying’. But after a few days of trail, I realised that this moisturiser is formulated for people with exactly my skin type.

The Ultra Light Moisturiser has a strong citric scent that feels refreshing on the face. The moisturiser is very fluid (photo), and sinks in nicely. Like all sunscreens, it does leaves a sheen, but it quickly dissipates within the first hour of application. Similar to the Moisturising Cream, this can be easily rubbed into the skin and does not leave a white cast.

Even though the moisturiser is not particularly hydrating, when you put it on, you can actually feel moisture seeping in to the deep levels of the skin rather than just sitting on top like a mask. If I layer some oil underneath for an extra boost of moisture, my skin is good for the day.

With summer time coming up, I can see myself using this moisturiser a lot. Now I just have to wait until LoveLula has it back in stock!

Would I repurchase any of these products? Yes – the Ultra Light Moisturiser!

Have any of you tried the Kimberly Sayer SPFs? Let me know!

If you are in the market for a new SPF, take a look at my review for the Green People’s Sun Lotion too!

Get The Ultra Light Moisturiser Here & the Moisturising Cream Here!

The Ingredients in the Kimberly Sayer Anti-Oxidant Daily Moisturising Cream:

“DEIONIZED WATER, ZINC OXIDE & TITANIUM DIOXIDE (MINERAL SUNBLOCKERS), SHEA BUTTER, ALOE VERA LEAF JUICE, APRICOT KERNEL OIL, VEGETABLE WAX & GLYCERIN, OAT BETA GLUCAN, OAT KERNEL EXTRACT, SEA ALGAE EXTRACT, OILS OF BORAGE SEED, FORAHA, LAVENDER & WHEAT GERM, ROSE & LAVENDER WATERS, SQUALANE (OLIVES), BEESWAX, PLANT PHOSPHOLIPIDS, VITAMINS A, C & E, EXTRACTS OF BEECH BUD, ROSEBUD, NETTLE LEAF, COMFREY, PLANTAIN & ROSEMARY, SUNFLOWER SEED OIL, VEGETABLE GUM, BENZYL ALCOHOL (PLANT ALCOHOL PRESERVATIVE)”

The Ingredients In the Kimberly Sayer Ultra Light Organic Facial Moisturiser:

“DEIONIZED WATER, ZINC OXIDE (MINERAL SUNBLOCK), TITANIUM DIOXIDE (MINERAL SUNBLOCK), SUNFLOWER SEED OIL, LECITHIN, SAFFLOWER SEED OIL, EMULSIFYING WAX (VEGETABLE), GLYCERIN, COCONUT OIL, ALOE VERA LEAF JUICE, SEA ALGAE EXTRACT, LEMON OIL, SHEA BUTTER, GREEN TEA, JOJOBA SEED OIL, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE (VITAMIN-E), EUCALYPTUS GLOBULUS LEAF OIL, XANTHUM GUM (VEGETABLE), BENYZL ALCOHOL (PLANT ALCOHOL PRESERVATIVE)”

2 thoughts on “Kimberly Sayer Moisturising Cream VS. Ultra Light Moisturiser | Sample Review

  1. I am so disappointed in this product! I bought the age defying moisture cream and the night cream. I had high expectations and love the ingredients but they go on white and they dont absorb into the skin. After rubbing and rubbing it finally disappears and my skin feels dry and dull. Ive been using only a few days but hate the way my skin looks and feels

    Like

Leave a comment